I HAVE A LITTLE SEEDLING
By Cari Meister, illus. by Jenni Desmond
New Books for Newborns is where to start. With lilting lullaby text and lovely illustrations, the New Books for Newborns stories are the perfect first books for new parents to share with their little ones right from the start!


Simon Pulse | ISBN 9781481478809
Pub date: April 3, 2018 | $17.99 | Ages 14 up
 
Ever since last year’s homecoming dance, best friends-turned-best enemies Zorie and Lennon have made an art of avoiding each other. It doesn’t hurt that their families are the modern day, Californian version of the Montagues and Capulets.
But when a group camping trip goes south, Zorie and Lennon find themselves stranded in the wilderness. Alone. Together.
What could go wrong?



Little Simon | ISBN 9781534410022
Pub date: April 10, 2018 | $7.99

In this sweet board book, a little seedling needs some rain, bright sunshine, and gentle hands to care for it, so that one day, it can spread its roots and grow into a mighty tree—just like the child that grows up beside it. A lovely book for parents to share about growing roots and branching out.



Aladdin | ISBN 9781481478656
Pub date: May 15, 2018 | $17.99 | Ages 8-12
 
One of the happiest memories twelve-year-old Sophia Wallace has is of her tenth birthday. Her mother made her a cake that year—and not a cake from a boxed-mix, but from scratch. She remembers the way the frosting tasted, the way the pink sugar roses dissolved on her tongue.This memory, and a scant few others like it, is all Sophia has of her mother, so she keeps them close. She keeps them secret, too. Because as paltry as these memories are, she shouldn’t have them at all. The truth is, Sophia Wallace’s mother died when she was six years old. But that isn’t how she remembers it. Not always. Sophia has never told anyone about her unusual memories—snapshots of a past that never happened. But everything changes when Sophia’s seventh grade English class gets an assignment to research solar eclipses. She becomes convinced that the upcoming solar eclipse will grant her the opportunity to make her alternate life come true, to enter a world where her mother never died.


THIS IS THE NEST THAT ROBIN BUILT
By Denise Fleming
Ages 2-8
“The jaunty rhythm of the text and the large, vibrant illustrations full of detail, along with a supporting minor cast of insects and other creatures, make for a lively story to share individually or with groups.”—The Horn Book Magazine, starred review



THE BIG UMBRELLA
By Amy June Bates and Juniper Bates
“A subtle, deceptively simple book about inclusion, hospitality, and welcoming the ‘other.’” —Kirkus Reviews

Mother's Day​ 2018

2018 Summer Must-Reads

I love books that make you think, and The Hiding is one that will keep you reading and continue to linger in your mind for some time. Usually I can catch twists, but this one kept me hooked and surprised me enough I had to go back and re-read certain parts. The narrative is stylistically different, and could be considered choppy or confusing for younger readers, but reluctant readers should be hooked from the start, gradually getting to know 16-year-old Danny Preston, as he comes to find himself stuck in his ex-girlfriend's house after sneaking in an open window. Laura's parents never approved of Danny, and he was never allowed in her home while they dated,. Readers enter the house with Danny and gradually discover more about him and his relationship with Laura, through flashbacks which gradually lead to an unexpected ending that will satisfy, provoke conversation, and most-likely have readers re-reading with new understanding. 



A lovely roundup of spring and Mother's Day titles published by Simon & Schuster


THE MEMORY OF FORGOTTEN THINGS
By Kat Zhang
Ages 8-12
“A heart-tugging and mind-bending exploration of time and possibility.”—School Library Journal
 



THE APOCALYPSE OF ELENA MENDOZA
By Shaun David Hutchinson
Ages 14 up
“Elena’s carefully developed relationships with her supportive best friend Fadil, her ex Javier, the conflicted Freddie, and her family bring additional depth to a thoughtful story about choice and destiny.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review



Beach Lane Books | ISBN 9781481430838
Pub date: March 6, 2018 | $17.99 | Ages 2-8
 
Robin is building a nest, and her friends are ready to help! The squirrel trims the twigs. The dog brings the string. The horse shares his straw. And then a surprise gatefold spread reveals how Robin knits them all together to make a safe and cozy home for her babies.

Page by Robert Carter



TEDDY’S FAVORITE TOY
By Christian Trimmer, illus. By Madeline Valentine
“Although it’s left unsaid, Teddy’s play resists gender stereotyping in that he’s allowed the freedom to play with whatever toys he likes in whatever way strikes his fancy—and the result is an imaginative free-for-all.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review



Atheneum | ISBN 9781534414464
Pub date: June 12, 2018 | $17.99 | Ages 8-12
 
Guinevere St. Clair is going to be a lawyer. She was the fastest girl in New York City. She knows everything there is to know about the brain. And now that she’s living in Crow, Iowa, she wants to ride into her first day of school on a cow named Willowdale Princess Deon Dawn. 
But Gwyn isn’t in Crow, Iowa, just for royal cows. Her family has moved there, where her parents grew up, in the hopes of jogging her mother Vienna’s memory. Vienna has been suffering from memory loss since Gwyn was four. She can no longer remember anything past the age of thirteen, not even that she has two young daughters. Gwyn’s father is obsessed with finding out everything he can to help his wife, but Gwyn’s focused on problems that seem a little more within her reach. Like proving that the very strange Gaysie Cutter who lives next door is behind the disappearance of her only friend, Wilbur Truesdale.
 



Atheneum | ISBN 9781481480796
Pub date: February 27, 2018 | $1
7.99 | Ages 4-8 
A mom goes to great lengths to rescue her son’s favorite doll in this delightful tribute to treasured toys—and mothers.
Teddy has a lot of cool toys. But his very favorite doll has the best manners, the sickest fighting skills, and a fierce sense of style.
Then one morning, something truly awful happens. And there’s only one woman fierce enough to save the day. Can Teddy’s mom reunite Teddy with his favorite toy?


I love when it happens, I start reading a book and don't put it down until I've finished. I admit I'm a fast reader, but I had three new books hook me this summer. 


Salaam Reads | ISBN 9781534400597
Pub date: April 3, 2018 | $17.99 | Ages 4-8
 
A khimar is a flowing scarf that my mommy wears.
Before she walks out the door each day, she wraps one around her head.
A young girl plays dress up with her mother’s headscarves, feeling her mother’s love with every one she tries on. Charming and vibrant illustrations showcase the beauty of the diverse and welcoming community in this portrait of a young Muslim American girl’s life.



STARRY EYES
By Jenn Bennett
Ages 14 up
“A layered adventure-love story that’s as much about the families we have and the families we make ourselves as it is about romance.”—Booklist
 



Simon Pulse | ISBN 9781481499101
Pub date: February 6, 2018 | $17.99 | Ages 12 up
 
At seventeen, Mei should be in high school, but skipping fourth grade was part of her parents’ master plan. Now a freshman at MIT, she is on track to fulfill the rest of this predetermined future: become a doctor, marry a preapproved Taiwanese Ivy Leaguer, produce a litter of babies.
With everything her parents have sacrificed to make her cushy life a reality, Mei can’t bring herself to tell them the truth—that she (1) hates germs, (2) falls asleep in biology lectures, and (3) has a crush on her classmate Darren Takahashi, who is decidedly not Taiwanese.
But when Mei reconnects with her brother, Xing, who is estranged from the family for dating the wrong woman, Mei starts to wonder if all the secrets are truly worth it. Can she find a way to be herself, whoever that is, before her web of lies unravels?

 

Recently read in one sitting: 


THE UNFORGETTABLE GUINIVERE ST. CLAIR
By Amy Makechnie
Ages 8-12
A ten-year-old girl is determined to find her missing neighbor, but the answers lead her to a places and people she never expected—and maybe even one she’s been running away from—in this gorgeous debut novel that’s perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish.



AMERICAN PANDA
By Gloria Chao
Ages 12 up
“With sensitivity and an abundance of humor, Chao captures Mei’s growing realization that her desires are worth pursuing and the way that this discovery eventually brings Mei and her mother closer together.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review

 

ChildressInk.com Home Page


Paula Wiseman Books | ISBN 9781534406582
Pub date: February 6, 2018 | $16.99 | Ages 4-8

By the door there is an umbrella. It is big. It is so big that when it starts to rain there is room for everyone underneath. It doesn’t matter if you are tall. Or plaid. Or hairy. It doesn’t matter how many legs you have. 
Don’t worry that there won’t be enough room under the umbrella. Because there will always be room.

 


Simon Pulse | ISBN 9781481498548
Pub date: February 6, 2018 | $17.99 | Ages 14 up

 Sixteen-year-old Elena Mendoza is the product of a virgin birth.
This can be scientifically explained (it’s called parthenogenesis), but what can’t be explained is how Elena is able to heal Freddie, the girl she’s had a crush on for years, from a gunshot wound in a Starbucks parking lot. Or why the boy who shot Freddie, David Combs, disappeared from the same parking lot minutes later after getting sucked up into the clouds. What also can’t be explained are the talking girl on the front of a tampon box, or the reasons that David Combs shot Freddie in the first place.
As more unbelievable things occur, and Elena continues to perform miracles, the only remaining explanation is the least logical of all—that the world is actually coming to an end, and Elena is possibly the only one who can do something about it.
 



MOMMY’S KHIMAR
By Jamilah Thompkins-Bigelow, illus. by Ebony Glenn
“With a universal message of love and community, this book offers a beautiful representation of a too-often-overlooked cultural group.”—Kirkus Reviews
 


Hiding, by Henry Turner
Clarion, 2018, $17.99
ISBN-13: 978-0544284777

Ages: 12+

Genre: YA fiction, thriller, suspense, paranormal, relationships, class, stereotyping, family life, first love, twist ending,