ChildressInk.com Home Page

Press Out + Color: Christmas Ornaments

By Kate Mclelland

Nosy Crow

​Age:7-10

Genre: How to, Make yourself, Arts and crafts, Christmas, Ornaments


​​Each of the twenty press-out Christmas decorations in this book can be easily slotted together to create cheerful hanging ornaments to adorn the Christmas tree or to add a festive touch to any space. Perfect for all ages, these gorgeous ornaments look elegant in white and gold, but even more glorious when colored.

Magical Forest

By Anna Brett

Barron's Educational Series, Inc., 2017, $10.99

​Ages: 8-14

​Genre: 3D colorscapes, coloring book, magical forest, nature, adult interest

​ISBN:  9780764168833




Thick as Thieves

By Megan Whalen Turner

GreenWillow

​Age:13+

Genre:Fantasy, Queens, Juvenile Fiction, Trilogy, Knights and Castles, Thieves


​​Thick as Thieves is the eagerly anticipated new stand-alone novel set in the world of the Queen’s Thief. New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.

Page assisted by R.E.Carter and Brayden Probst

The Thousandth Floor
​Book 1

By Kathereine McGee
HarperCollins PA

ISBN-13: 978-0062418609

Affordable Technology. Way Cool!

Ballerina Theater

By Anna Brett

Barron's Educational Series, Inc., 2017, $10.99

​Ages: 8+

​Genre: 3D colorscapes, coloring book, ballerina, ballet, adult interest

​ISBN:  9780764168826


I saw these books and I had to have them! Love unique spins on the coloring trend, and these 3D color-scapes are too cool! For adults, teacher gifts, or older teens, I recommend Magical Forest. Ballerina Theater works for slightly younger audiences with crossover appeal to YA ballet enthusiasts. Be warned: not for the very young, coloring details may cause frustration.  ​​​

Harry Potter And The Prisoner Of Azkaban Illustrated version

By J.K. Rowling

Illustrated By Jim Kay

Scholastic

Age:10+

Genre: Wizard and Witches, Magic, Coming of Age story, Juvenile Fiction, Illustration


A must have for collectors and a must read for all.


​For twelve long years, the dread fortress of Azkaban held an infamous prisoner named Sirius Black. Convicted of killing thirteen people with a single curse, he was said to be the heir apparent to the Dark Lord, Voldemort.Now he has escaped, leaving only two clues as to where he might be headed: Harry Potter's defeat of You-Know-Who was Black's downfall as well. And the Azkaban guards heard Black muttering in his sleep, "He's at Hogwarts . . . he's at Hogwarts."Harry Potter isn't safe, not even within the walls of his magical school, surrounded by his friends. Because on top of it all, there may well be a traitor in their midst.

Kid Authors: True Tales of Childhood from Famous Authors

By David Stabler

Illustrations by Doogie Horner

Qurik

Age: 10+

Genre: Short Stories, True Stories, Young Authors, Famous Authors, Origin Stories


​​Every great author started out as a kid. Before the best sellers, fan clubs, and beloved stories we know today, the world's most celebrated writers had regular-kid problems just like you. Sam Clemens (aka Mark Twain) loved to skip school and make mischief, with his best friend Tom, of course! A young J. R. R. Tolkien was bitten by a huge tarantula—or as he called it, “a spider as big as a dragon.” Toddler Zora Neale Hurston took her first steps when a wild hog entered her house and started chasing her! Kid Artists tells their stories and more—the diverse and inclusive cast that includes Roald Dahl, Beverly Cleary, J. K. Rowling, Sherman Alexie, Jules Verne, Lewis Carroll, Stan Lee—through kid-friendly texts and full-color cartoon illustrations on nearly every page.

Look in

 Kim Childress

Childress Ink

Grand Rapids, MI

RE: The 2017 Tax Overhaul

Dear Senators,

At this time as tax overhauls are being consider, I would like to share an idea for raising monies for federal funding.

Proposal: The Philanthropy Credit

What is it?

A chance for people to give back. A chance to come together as a people in support of our great nation.

The world needs more of people like Hamdi Ulukaya, the founder of Chobani (the yogurt), who visited Syrian refugees in Greece and felt led to donate half of his wealth to help all refugees, and continues to do so through his foundation, The Tent.

A tax credit for giving…

Donation Credit: To receive a tax credit, individuals must give $1.00 free-and-clear to go towards the deficit. Any amount above the $1.00 mark could then be itemized and deducted.

Above the required $1.00 amount, there could be a choice to give more towards the deficit, and/or choices could also be given such as to Medicaid, Disaster Relief, etc.

A box to be checked could be added to tax forms.

I would love to see how many people would be willing to give $1.00 at tax time, just as there is a box to check to donate to political parties.

Consider this as a chance for anyone to give back to our country’s ideals, ,and to just be kind.

Kim Childress

On this day,

15th of November, 2017 

Love! Love! Love!

Norse Myth: Tales of Odin, Thor, and Loki

By Kevin Crossley-Holland

Illustrated by Jeffrey Alan Love

CandleWick Studio

Age: 9-16

Genre: Myths, Short Stories, Norse, Retellings, Gods, Illustration, Folklore


 A collaboration by two talented creators provides the perfect means to delve into Norse mythology and pore over the enthralling exploits of all-powerful Odin; mighty Thor and his hammer, Mjolnir; and Loki, the infamous trickster. From the creation of the nine worlds to the final battle of Ragnarok, Carnegie Medal winner Kevin Crossley-Holland details the Viking gods as never before, while Jeffrey Alan Love's lavish illustrations bring the mythic figures to life on the page. Readers will be caught up in the seesawing struggle for power between gods, dwarfs, and giants, punctuated by surprising love matches, thrilling journeys, and dazzling magic. With its well-researched, lyrical prose and its dramatic and powerful artwork, this wonderful gift edition makes the perfect book for both the staunchest fans of mythology and newcomers with no knowledge of Viking folklore.

A Year of Tiny Pleasures

By Irene Smit & Astrid van der Hulst 

WorkMan Publishing

​Age: 10+

Genre: Calendar


​​The calendar that celebrates the little things in life that make us happy, from Flow, the international groundbreaking magazine that celebrates mindfulness and creativity. Each page of A Year of Tiny PleasuresPage-A-Day Calendar is a tribute to the moments and details that can turn a day around. Artist Deborah van der Schaaf’s delightful illustrations, in vibrant full color, celebrate beauty and whimsy in the everyday—and serve as charming reminders of what’s important, every day.

Toys for Adults!


Dromida KODO FPV Drone (MSRP: $89.99)
·       Wi-Fi FPV camera – Fly FPV with 30 fps video and 2 ms low-latency Wi-Fi.
·       KODOVIEW mobile app – Completes the FPV experience with video and photo capabilities.
·       Goggles – Add your smartphone and immerse yourself in the action.
·       Auto-flip – Perform pro-style flips on demand.
·       Long flight times – Spend more time in the air.

Winter 2018

The Dazzling Heights
By Kathereine McGee
HarperCollins, 2017

BISACYA, Futuristic, Suspense, SciFi, Romance, Intrigue, Adventure, Elitism, Secrets, Friendship, Betrayal, Future Manhattan
​​ISBN 13​: 9780374470272   

                      
The Thousandth Floor book two now available, The Dazzling Heights, Hardcover – August 29, 2017, HarperCollins: Book one (Thousandth Floor) left me suspended from the highest heights and wanting to know what happened next. Filled with intrigue, an elitist society (Manhattan), taking place in a fantastically-imagined, futuristic, sci-fi world, with well-developed characters  whose fates will keep you reading long after dark (even if you don't like them all). 


Adult Interest

Philanthroparties:

A Party-Planning Guide

For Kids Who Want to Give Back

By Lulu Cerone

Beyond Words, $17.99

Age:10-18 (I say all ages)

Fairy Mom and Me

By Sophie Kinsella

Illustrated by Marta Kissi

​Delacorte Books

Age: 7-10

Genre: Juvenile Fiction, Fantasy, Coming of age story, Magic, Wishes


Ella Brook can't wait to grow up, because one day she will become a fairy and have her own sparkly wings and a teacher on Fairy Tube, just like her mom! Until then, Ella has to learn by watching her mom in action. ​But sometimes spells go wrong, and Ella's mom can never seem to remember the right magic codes on her Computawand. A lot of the time, it's up to Ella to come to the rescue. Does she have what it takes to be a fairy one day? Or will there be more glitches than glitter?


Adult Interest